About Us

Bwog

Fall 2017

It’s Bwog, not BWOG.

Editor in Chief
Amara Banks
amara@bwog.com
editor@bwog.com

Managing Editor
Betsy Ladyzhets
betsy@bwog.com
editor@bwog.com

Internal Editor
Finn Klauber
finn@bwog.com
editor@bwog.com

Arts Editor
Sarah Kinney
arts@bwog.com

Events Editor
Lexie Lehmann
events@bwog.com

Deputy Editors
Youngweon Lee
Victoria Arancio

Features Editor
Timmy Wu

Photography Editor
Aliya Schneider

Daily Editors
Monday: Thomas Saenz
Tuesday: Roberta Kirosingh
Wednesday: Megan Chew
Thursday: Sarah Harty
Friday: Zack Abrams
Saturday: Jenny Zhu
Sunday: Isabel Sepulveda

Sports Editor
Ross Chapman

Senior Staff Writers
Ross Chapman
Sarah Dahl
Finn Klauber
Gabrielle Kloppers
Nadra Rahman
Jack Treanor
Bella Tincher
Dassi Karp

Editors Emeritus
Rachel Deal
Maddie Stearn
Mason Amelotte

 

The Blue & White

Fall 2017

Editor in Chief
Alex Swanson

Publisher
Andrew Loso

Layout Editor
Aaron Su

Senior Illustrator
Lani Allen

Editor Emeritus 
Channing Prend

  

 

 

Co-Publisher
James Fast
james@bwog.com
ads@bwog.com

Co-Publisher
Nikolas Huth
nikolas@bwog.com

Communications
Director: Gabrielle Lipson
gabrielle@bwog.com
Deputy Director: Katiana Klain
katie@bwog.com
pr@bwog.com

Social Media
Director: Youngweon Lee
youngweon@bwog.com
Video Producer: Camille Ramos
Maya Nayyar
Jamie Grimstad
media@bwog.com

Tech
Kevin “The WordPress Daddy” Chen
Fernando “The Wall” Pascual
Jack “White Mamba” Damon
tech@bwog.com

Bureau Chiefs
CCSC: Nadra Rahman
ESC: Finn Klauber
SGA: Dassi Karp
GSSC: Alex Tang

Staff Writers
Shina Chetti
Abby Rubel
Levi Cohen
Hannah Zwick
Maggie Moran
Isobel Shaffer
Lorraine Jiang
Zoe Metcalfe
Zoe Sottile
Megan Ka Wei Chew
Ana Rael
Kiana Taghavi
Ramisa Murshed
Lucy Danger
Layla Alexander

Alma Bwogger
Rachel Deal

 

 

 
Managing Editor
Caroline Hurley

Senior Editors
Lena Rubin
Ned Russin
Virginia Ambeliotis
Esmé Ablaza
Saif Maqbool

Staff Writers
Gage Hodgen
Jasmine Park
Nick Kensinger

Bwog is an independent, student-run campus news site. After being launched in January 2006 as the online incarnation of The Blue and White magazine— intended to post stories that warranted immediate attention, such as free food alerts and breaking news—Bwog developed into Columbia’s preeminent campus blog separate from the magazine.  While our focus remains set on the university and we retain ties to The Blue and White, we are a financially and administratively independent organization, published by Blue and White Publishing Inc.

Bwog is completely student-run and publishes multiple posts a day during the academic year. Our goal is to alert students to information of interest and offer a critical perspective on life at Columbia. This includes news from the administration, campus gossip, and events—in addition to, still, free food. We post what you should have heard about as a member of the Columbia community, packaged with bad puns and coarse jokes.

Bwog’s rise to legitimacy came with the Minuteman protests in the fall of 2006. Other highlights in Bwog history include September 2007 when Ahmadinejad came to campus—thus creating our beloved Hawkmadinejad—comprehensive coverage of Operation Ivy League in winter 2010, breaking the news on Dean Moody-Adams’ resignation in summer 2011, and the spring 2012 announcement of President Barack Obama as Barnard’s commencement speaker.

As seen in the case of Obamanard, the Bwog comment section is vibrant and active. This space is intended for readers to discuss relevant topics constructively and respectfully. Bwog leaves it largely self-moderated, but reserves the right to step in, as per our comment policy.

If you are interested in joining Bwog or have juicy news and gossip, email us at tips@bwog.com, or come to our open weekly meetings every Sunday at 9 pm in the Lerner SGO. For inquiries concerning advertisements, contact ads@bwog.com.

© 2006-2015 Blue and White Publishing Inc.