Bwog

Fall 2014

It’s Bwog, not BWOG.

Editor-in-Chief
Julia Goodman
julia@bwog.com
editors@bwog.com

Internal Editor
Maud Rozee
maud@bwog.com

Managing Editor
Claire Friedman
friedman@bwog.com

Deputy Editors
Tatini Mal-Sarkar
Josh Dillon
Courtney Couillard
Eric Cohn
Taylor Grasdalen
Britt Fossum

Daily Editors
Sunday: Mason Amelotte
Monday: Lili Brown
Tuesday: Max Rettig
Wednesday: Rachel Deal
Thursday: Joseph Powers
Friday: Garrett Donnelly
Saturday: Libby Kandel

Arts Editor
Taylor Grasdalen

Sports Editor
Ross Chapman

Video Editor
Anna Hotter

Events Editor
Britt Fossum
events@bwog.com

Editors Emeriti
Alexandra Avvocato
Alexander Pines
Conor Skelding
Alexandra Svokos

 

 

 

 

The Blue and White 

Spring 2014

Editor in Chief
Torsten Odland
torsten@theblueandwhite.org

Publisher
Matthew Seife

Layout Editor
Jessie Chasan-Taber

Contributors
Mikey Abrams
Tyler Dingman
Cooper Lynn
Angelica Modabber
Jennifer Sluka
Matthew Seife
Isaiah Thomas
Ethan Wu

Artists
Rachel Agins
Zane Bhanscli
Britt Fossum
Julia Jarrett
Angel Jiang
Katharine Lin
Alexander Pines
Anne Scotti
Alexandra Warrick

 

  

 

 

Publisher
Jake Hershman
jake@bwog.com
ads@bwog.com

Associate Publisher
Joey Levy
joey@bwog.com

Director of Communications
Natalie Telson
natalie@bwog.com
pr@bwog.com

Deputy Director of Communications
Gabrielle Lipson
gabrielle@bwog.com

Account Executives 
Amsal Lakhani
Jin Peng
Nancy Xu

Graphic Designer
Alejandra Oliva

Tech
Parker “The Cat” Case
Andy “&eveloper” Hadjigeorgiou
Kevin “The WordPress Daddy” Chen
tech@bwog.com

Senior Staff Writers
Sarah Faith Thompson
Joseph Milholland
Daniela Lopez

Barnard Bearoness
Lauren Beltrone

Bureau Chiefs
Satow Room: Joseph Milholland
Diana Center: Lauren Beltrone
ESC: Aparajita Maitra

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Managing Editor
Somer Omar
somer@theblueandwhite.org

Features Editor
Will Holt

Senior Editors
Luca Marzorati
Alexander Pines
Daniel Stone
Hallie Nell Swanson

Senior Illustrator
Leila Mgaloblishvili

Staff Writers
Michelle Cheripka
Virginia Fu
Tamsin Pargiter
Channing Prend
Alexandra Svokos

Editors Emeriti
Anna Bahr
Mark Hay
Jon Hill
Sylvie Krekow
Liz Naiden
Conor Skelding
Brian Wagner

Bwog is an independent, student-run campus news site. After being launched in January 2006 as the online incarnation of The Blue and White magazine– intended to post stories that warranted immediate attention, such as free food alerts and breaking news—Bwog developed into Columbia’s preeminent campus blog separate from the magazine.  While our focus remains set on the university and we retain ties to The Blue and White, we are a financially and administratively independent organization, published by Blue and White Publishing Inc.

Bwog is completely student-run and publishes multiple posts a day during the academic year. Our goal is to alert students to information of interest and offer a critical perspective on life at Columbia. This includes news from the administration, campus gossip, and events—in addition to, still, free food. We post what you should have heard about as a member of the Columbia community, packaged with bad puns and coarse jokes.

Bwog’s rise to legitimacy came with the Minuteman protests in the fall of 2006. Other highlights in Bwog history include September 2007 when Ahmadinejad came to campus—thus creating our beloved Hawkmadinejad—comprehensive coverage of Operation Ivy League in winter 2010, breaking the news on Dean Moody-Adams’ resignation in summer 2011, and the spring 2012 announcement of President Barack Obama as Barnard’s commencement speaker.

As seen in the case of Obamanard, the Bwog comment section is vibrant and active. This space is intended for readers to discuss relevant topics constructively and respectfully. Bwog leaves it largely self-moderated, but reserves the right to step in, as per our comment policy.

If you are interested in joining Bwog or have juicy news and gossip, email us at tips@bwog.com, or come to our open weekly meetings every Sunday at 7 pm in the Lerner SGO. For inquiries concerning advertisements, contact ads@bwog.com.