About Us

Bwog

Spring 2015

It’s Bwog, not BWOG.

Editor in Chief
Taylor Grasdalen
taylor@bwog.com
editor@bwog.com

Managing Editor
Courtney Couillard
courtney@bwog.com

Internal Editor
Britt Fossum
britt@bwog.com

Features Editor
Tatini Mal-Sarkar

News Editor
Eric Cohn

Daily Editors
Sunday: Mason Amelotte
Monday: Lili Brown
Tuesday: Briana Bursten
Wednesday: Rachel Deal
Thursday: Caroline Montgomery
Friday: Joseph Powers
Saturday: Henry Litwhiler

Arts Editor
Joseph Powers

Sports Editor
Ross Chapman

Video Editor
Anna Hotter
video@bwog.com

Events Editor
Max Rettig
events@bwog.com

Editors Emeriti
Sarah Faith Thompson
Julia Goodman
Claire Friedman
Maud Rozee
Alexander Pines

 

The Blue & White

Spring 2015

Editor in Chief
Daniel Stone

Publisher
Jessie Chasan-Taber

Literary Editor
Virginia Fu

Contributors
Sophie Bridges
Jessica Call
Scott Fischbein
Kunal Jasty
Tatini Mal-Sarkar
Luca Marzorati
Joseph Milholland
Ben Schneider
Brian Thorn

Artists
Rachel Chin
Zane Bhansali
Wendi Lu
Joanna Zou
Irina Teveleva

Editors Emeriti
Anna Bahr
Mark Hay
Jon Hill
Sylvie Krekow
Liz Naiden
Torsten Odland
Conor Skelding
Brian Wagner 

  

 

 

Publisher
Jake Hershman
jake@bwog.com
ads@bwog.com

Associate Publisher
Joey Levy
joey@bwog.com

Director of Communications
Gabrielle Lipson
gabrielle@bwog.com
pr@bwog.com

Account Executives 
Amsal Lakhani
Jin Peng

Tech
Parker “The Cat” Case
Andy “&eveloper” Hadjigeorgiou
Kevin “The WordPress Daddy” Chen
tech@bwog.com

Senior Staff Writers
Anna Hotter
Max Rettig
Joseph Milholland

Bureau Chiefs
CCSC: Joseph Milholland
ESC: Pending
SGA: Maddie Stearn

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Managing Editor
Hallie Nell Swanson

Cultural Editor
Alexander Pines

Senior Editors
Sean Augustine-Obi
Channing Prend
Naomi Sharp

Senior Illustrator
Zane Bhansali

Senior Staff Writer
Nia Brown

Staff Writers
Jordana Narin
Joseph Rabinovitsj
Mabel Taylor

Bwog is an independent, student-run campus news site. After being launched in January 2006 as the online incarnation of The Blue and White magazine— intended to post stories that warranted immediate attention, such as free food alerts and breaking news—Bwog developed into Columbia’s preeminent campus blog separate from the magazine.  While our focus remains set on the university and we retain ties to The Blue and White, we are a financially and administratively independent organization, published by Blue and White Publishing Inc.

Bwog is completely student-run and publishes multiple posts a day during the academic year. Our goal is to alert students to information of interest and offer a critical perspective on life at Columbia. This includes news from the administration, campus gossip, and events—in addition to, still, free food. We post what you should have heard about as a member of the Columbia community, packaged with bad puns and coarse jokes.

Bwog’s rise to legitimacy came with the Minuteman protests in the fall of 2006. Other highlights in Bwog history include September 2007 when Ahmadinejad came to campus—thus creating our beloved Hawkmadinejad—comprehensive coverage of Operation Ivy League in winter 2010, breaking the news on Dean Moody-Adams’ resignation in summer 2011, and the spring 2012 announcement of President Barack Obama as Barnard’s commencement speaker.

As seen in the case of Obamanard, the Bwog comment section is vibrant and active. This space is intended for readers to discuss relevant topics constructively and respectfully. Bwog leaves it largely self-moderated, but reserves the right to step in, as per our comment policy.

If you are interested in joining Bwog or have juicy news and gossip, email us at tips@bwog.com, or come to our open weekly meetings every Sunday at 7 pm in the Lerner SGO. For inquiries concerning advertisements, contact ads@bwog.com.

© 2006-2015 Blue and White Publishing Inc.