MENU CATEGORIES

Connect with us

Submit a Tip
MENU CATEGORIES

About Us

Bwog

Spring 2022

It’s Bwog, not BWOG.

Editor in Chief
Rania Borgani
rania@bwog.com
board@bwog.com

Managing Editor
Henry Astor
henry@bwog.com
board@bwog.com

Internal Editor
Sofia Fontaine
sofia@bwog.com
board@bwog.com

Alma “Blankie” Bwogger
Lauren Kahme

Editors Emeritae
Caroline Mullooly
Aditi Misra

Alma “Egg” Bwogger
Eva Sher

Social Media Editor
Eliza Staples
eliza@bwog.com
Social Team:
Aditi Misra
Rohan Mehta
Sara Kirkham
Ava Slocum
social@bwog.com

Arts Editor
Maya Campbell
maya@bwog.com
Deputy Arts Editor: Grace Novarr
arts@bwog.com

Events Editor
Ava Slocum
ava@bwog.com
Deputy Events Editor: Julia Tolda
events@bwog.com

Sports Editor
Maxwell Lurken-Tvrdik
maxwell@bwog.com
sports@bwog.com

Science Editor
Kyle Murray
kyle@bwog.com
Deputy Science Editor: Phoebe Lu
science@bwog.com

Deputy Editors
Lillian Rountree
lillian@bwog.com
Rohan Mehta
rohan@bwog.com

News Editor
Victoria Borlando
victoria@bwog.com
Deputy News Editors:
Bannon Beall
Paulina Rodriguez
news@bwog.com

Photo & Video
Visual Editor: Shane Maughn
shane@bwog.com
Illustrators:
Evelyn Van Ness
Lia Jung
Ava Morouse
Eli Reville
Sofia Covarrubias
media@bwog.com

Bureau Chiefs
CCSC: Mariah Johnson
ESC: Leora Schloss
SGA: Tara Sangal
GSSC: TBD

Publishers
Jeffrey Ndubisi
jeffrey@bwog.com
Ranger Liu
ryl@bwog.com
ads@bwog.com

Tech Editor
Solomia Dzhaman
solomia@bwog.com
Tech Team:
Sean Kim
David Xu
Jeremy Carin
Lucas Cang
Hailey Shewprasad
Hana Memon
tech@bwog.com

Daily Editors
Monday: Ben Bozza
Tuesday: Libby Walker
Wednesday: Vicky Melkonyan
Thursday: Sahmaya Busby
Friday: Luciana Diaz-Albadan
Saturday: TBD
Sunday: Conor Wolff

Senior Staff Writers
Brigid Cromwell
Charlotte Slovin
Elena Christenfeld
Henry Golub
Hibah Vora
Mary Clare Greenlees
Miyoki Walker
Owen Fitzgerald-Diaz
Sarah Braner
Regan Mies
Sarah Perry
Yuki Adams
Zach Fisher
Zane Bekheet
Eunice Bae
Jordan Merrill
Shira Michaeli
Camille Sensiba
Anna Eggers
Donna Qi
Jeff Davis
Mary Qiu
Ellie Rieger
Panu Hejmadi
Ella Diaz
Samantha Seiff
Grace Fitzgerald-Diaz

Staff Writers
Daniella Donzelli-Scorza
Jewels Tauzin
Samantha Seiff
Sydney Contreras
Jas Wahan
Linus Glenhaber
Habeeba Mansour
Sofia Trujillo
Alice Rodi
Simon Panfilio
Cairo Yepez
Celia Bernhardt
Caroline Alpi
Anya Kopyra
Charlie Bonkowsky
Rachel Powell
Marino Bubba
Sophie Larson
Ayelet Glaser
Julia Ross
Emily Fernandez
Mia Ogle
Catherine Beckett
Obutor Ogonor
Simryn Molina
Jake Torres
Dominic Wiharso
Serena DiDio
Marissa Lynn Keogh
Kate Mekechuk
Jeremy Faust
Anna Hall
Arpita Iyer
Avishi Agastwar
Eli Knodell
Gigi Silla
Irene Jang
Shaila Perry
Sydney Wells
Victoria Gallacher
Will Lyman

Bwog is an independent, student-run campus news site. We publish content that is relevant to undergraduate students at the University, including breaking news; campus arts, science, and culture events; investigative features; and conspiracy theories – often packaged with a humorous voice. We also publish a weekly newsletter that packages these stories for subscribers.

We launched in January 2006 as an affiliate of The Blue and White Magazine, but are now a financially and administratively independent organization from both the magazine and Columbia University. Bwog is now published by Bwog Limited.

Bwog’s rise to legitimacy came with the Minuteman protests in the fall of 2006. Highlights in Bwog history include September 2007 when Ahmadinejad came to campus (thus creating our beloved Hawkmadinejad), comprehensive coverage of Operation Ivy League in winter 2010, breaking the news on Dean Moody-Adams’ resignation in summer 2011, and the spring 2012 announcement of President Barack Obama as Barnard’s commencement speaker. Bwog also covered the spring 2013 LitHum and Barnard cheating scandals, and broke the news on the wrestling team’s GroupMe in fall 2016. Most recently, we broke the story about student Julian von Abele’s racist rant in front of Butler.

Bwog can be found on Twitter, where we crack jokes and livetweet coverage of student events; Instagram, where we post everything from weird overseen scenes to pictures from events around campus; and YouTube and TikTok, where you can find Bwog Videos, a.k.a. Bwideos. DMs are open and submissions are welcome on all platforms.

The Bwog comment section is intended for readers to discuss relevant topics constructively and respectfully. Bwog leaves it largely self-moderated but reserves the right to step in, as per our comment policy.

If you are interested in joining Bwog or have a tip to submit, email us at tips@bwog.com, or come to our open weekly meetings every Sunday at 9 pm in Lerner 510. For inquiries concerning advertisements, contact ads@bwog.com.