MENU CATEGORIES

Connect with us

Submit a Tip
MENU CATEGORIES

About Us

Bwog

Fall 2021

It’s Bwog, not BWOG.

Editor in Chief
Lauren Kahme
lauren@bwog.com
board@bwog.com

Managing Editor
Caroline Mullooly
caroline@bwog.com
board@bwog.com

Internal Editor
Aditi Misra
aditi@bwog.com
board@bwog.com

Social Media Editor
Eliza Staples
eliza@bwog.com
Social Team:
Aditi Misra
Owen Fitzgerald-Diaz
Rohan Mehta
Sara Kirkham
Rita Nguyen
Ava Slocum
social@bwog.com

Arts Editor
Maya Campbell
maya@bwog.com
Deputy Arts Editor: Grace Novarr
arts@bwog.com

Events Editor
Julia Tolda
julia@bwog.com
Deputy Events Editor: Grace Fitzgerald-Diaz
events@bwog.com

Sports Editor
Eunice Bae
eunice@bwog.com
sports@bwog.com

Science Editor
Sarah Braner
braner@bwog.com
Deputy Science Editor: Phoebe Lu
science@bwog.com

Deputy Editors
Lillian Rountree
Rania Borgani
editors@bwog.com

News Editor
Victoria Borlando
victoria@bwog.com
Deputy News Editors:
Bannon Beall
Henry Astor
news@bwog.com

Photo & Video
Visual Editor: Jordan Merrill
media@bwog.com
Head Illustrator: Shane Maughn
Illustrators:
Ashley Canales
Evelyn Van Ness
Lia Jung
Ava Morouse
Eli Reville
Sofia Covarrubias
Prisha Samdarshi

Bureau Chiefs
CCSC: Mariah Johnson
ESC: Leora Schloss
SGA: Tara Sangal
GSSC: Sara Kirkham

Alma “Egg” Bwogger
Eva Sher

Publishers
Jeffrey Ndubisi
jeffrey@bwog.com
Ranger Liu
ryl@bwog.com
ads@bwog.com

Tech Editor
Solomia Dzhaman
Tech Team:
Sean Kim
David Xu
Jeremy Carin
Lucas Cang
Hailey Shewprasad
Hana Memon
tech@bwog.com

Daily Editors
Monday: Rohan Mehta
Tuesday: Libby Walker
Wednesday: Panu Hejmadi
Thursday: Ella Diaz
Friday: Luciana Diaz-Albadan
Saturday: Emma Boone
Sunday: Conor Wolff

Senior Staff Writers
Alyse Rovner
Brigid Cromwell
Charlotte Slovin
Elena Christenfeld
Henry Golub
Hibah Vora
Mary Clare Greenlees
Miyoki Walker
Owen Fitzgerald-Diaz
Regan Mies
Sarah Perry
Yuki Adams
Zach Fisher
Zane Bekheet
Shira Michaeli
Sam Seliger
Eleanor Babwin
Camille Sensiba
Owen Fitzgerald-Diaz
Anna Eggers
Donna Qi
Jeff Davis

Staff Writers
Daniella Donzelli-Scorza
Ellie Rieger
Francesca Afierro
Jewels Tauzin
Mary Qiu
Samantha Seiff
Sofia Fontaine
Sydney Contreras
Mason Cannon
Lucie Swenson
Jas Wahan
Linus Glenhaber
Habeeba Mansour
Sofia Trujillo
Vicky Melkonyan
Alice Rodi
Ava Slocum
Maxwell Lurken-Tvrdik
Simon Panfilio
Cairo Yepez
Celia Bernhardt
Caroline Alpi
Sahmaya Busby
Anya Kopya
Charlie Bonkowsky
Rachel Powell
Marino Bubba
Daniel Caplan
Paulina Rodriguez
Sophie Larson
Ayelet Glaser
Cher Li
Julia Ross
Danny Siegel
Emily Fernandez
Mia Ogle
Catherine Beckett
Boluwatife Oshuntolu
Obutor Ogonor
Simryn Molina
Kyle Murray
Lourdes Russell
Jake Torres

Bwog is an independent, student-run campus news site. We publish content that is relevant to undergraduate students at the University, including breaking news; campus arts, science, and culture events; investigative features; and conspiracy theories – often packaged with a humorous voice. We also publish a weekly newsletter that packages these stories for subscribers.

We launched in January 2006 as an affiliate of The Blue and White Magazine, but are now a financially and administratively independent organization from both the magazine and Columbia University. Bwog is now published by Bwog Limited.

Bwog’s rise to legitimacy came with the Minuteman protests in the fall of 2006. Highlights in Bwog history include September 2007 when Ahmadinejad came to campus (thus creating our beloved Hawkmadinejad), comprehensive coverage of Operation Ivy League in winter 2010, breaking the news on Dean Moody-Adams’ resignation in summer 2011, and the spring 2012 announcement of President Barack Obama as Barnard’s commencement speaker. Bwog also covered the spring 2013 LitHum and Barnard cheating scandals, and broke the news on the wrestling team’s GroupMe in fall 2016. Most recently, we broke the story about student Julian von Abele’s racist rant in front of Butler.

Bwog can be found on Twitter, where we crack jokes and livetweet coverage of student events; Instagram, where we post everything from weird overseen scenes to pictures from events around campus; and YouTube and TikTok, where you can find Bwog Videos, a.k.a. Bwideos. DMs are open and submissions are welcome on all platforms.

The Bwog comment section is intended for readers to discuss relevant topics constructively and respectfully. Bwog leaves it largely self-moderated but reserves the right to step in, as per our comment policy.

If you are interested in joining Bwog or have a tip to submit, email us at tips@bwog.com, or come to our open weekly meetings every Sunday at 9 pm in Lerner 510. For inquiries concerning advertisements, contact ads@bwog.com.