Menu CATEGORIES

Connect with us

CATEGORIES Menu

About Us

Bwog

Spring 2020

It’s Bwog, not BWOG.

Editor in Chief
Isabel Sepúlveda
isabel@bwog.com
board@bwog.com

Managing Editor
Eva Sher
eva@bwog.com
board@bwog.com

Internal Editor
Vivian Zhou
vivian@bwog.com
board@bwog.com

Social Media Editor
Owen Fitzgerald-Diaz
owen@bwog.com
Social Team: Nicki Camberg
Aditi Misra
Caroline Mullooly

Arts Editor
Riva Weinstein
riva@bwog.com
Deputy Arts Editor: Maya Campbell
arts@bwog.com

Events Editor
Brigid Cromwell
brigid@bwog.com
Deputy Events Editor: Aditi Misra
events@bwog.com

Sports Editor
Eunice Bae
eunice@bwog.com
sports@bwog.com

Science Editor
Sarah Braner
sarahb@bwog.com
Deputy Science Editor: Chloe Gong
science@bwog.com

Deputy Editors
Mary Clare Greenlees
Caroline Mullooly

News Editor
Lauren Kahme
lauren@bwog.com
news@bwog.com

Bureau Chiefs
CCSC: Adam Kluge
ESC: Lori Luo
SGA: Eliza Staples
GSSC: Olivia Mitchell

Editores Emeriti
Victoria Arancio
Sarah Kinney
Zack Abrams
Zoe Sottile

Alma “Oxford Comma” Bwogger
Youngweon Lee

Alma “Gwyneth” Bwogger
Jenny Zhu

Publishers
Andrew Penn
andrew@bwog.com
Matthew Wayland
matthew@bwog.com
ads@bwog.com

Photo & Video
Video Editor: Jordan Merrill
Photographer: Sophie Tobin
media@bwog.com

Tech
Tech Editor: Jeanne Locker
Cassandra Marcussen
Solomia Dzhaman
tech@bwog.com

Daily Editors
Monday: Lillian Rountree
Tuesday: Josh Tate
Wednesday: Oliver Niu
Thursday: Skylar Li
Friday: Sam Losee
Saturday: Jeffrey Ndubisi
Sunday: Charlotte Slovin

Senior Staff Writers
Andrew Chee
Sarah Harty
Ramisa Murshed
Levi Cohen
Jake Tibbetts
Danielle Mikaelian
Henry Golub
Sophie Tobin
Elle Ferguson
Andrew Wang
Maya Corral
Sam Azanza
Regan Mies
Cole Gengos
Jeffrey Ndubisi
Alex Tang
Idris O’Neill
Jess Hu
Miyoki Walker
Ruby Mustill
Julia Greenblatt

Staff Writers
Abi Peters
Joseph Campbell
Richard Lee
Alyse Rovner
Daniel Ortega-Venni
Olivia Mitchell
Reyna Choi
Zach Fisher
Solomia Dzhaman
Hibah Vora
Josh Tate
Nicki Camberg
Donna Qi
Joya Kumar
Mia Xing
Victoria Borlando
Joanna Yu
Alan Wang
Sarah Perry
Cara Erdman
Laura Messner
Candice Choi
Julia Tolda
Leora Schloss
Christa Bailey
Elena Christenfeld
Grace Li
William Lyman
Yuki Adams
Zane Bekheet
Amrita Banerji

Bwog is an independent, student-run campus news site. We publish content that is relevant to undergraduate students at the University, including breaking news; campus arts, science, and culture events; investigative features; and conspiracy theories – often packaged with a humorous voice. We also publish a weekly newsletter that packages these stories for subscribers.

We launched in January 2006 as an affiliate of The Blue and White Magazine, but are now a financially and administratively independent organization from both the magazine and Columbia University. Bwog is now published by Bwog Limited.

Bwog’s rise to legitimacy came with the Minuteman protests in the fall of 2006. Highlights in Bwog history include September 2007 when Ahmadinejad came to campus (thus creating our beloved Hawkmadinejad), comprehensive coverage of Operation Ivy League in winter 2010, breaking the news on Dean Moody-Adams’ resignation in summer 2011, and the spring 2012 announcement of President Barack Obama as Barnard’s commencement speaker. Bwog also covered the spring 2013 LitHum and Barnard cheating scandals, and broke the news on the wrestling team’s GroupMe in fall 2016. Most recently, we broke the story about student Julian von Abele’s racist rant in front of Butler.

Bwog can be found on Twitter, where we crack jokes and livetweet coverage of student events; Instagram, where we post everything from weird overseen scenes to pictures from events around campus; and YouTube, where you can find Bwog Videos, a.k.a. Bwideos. DMs are open and submissions are welcome on all platforms.

The Bwog comment section is intended for readers to discuss relevant topics constructively and respectfully. Bwog leaves it largely self-moderated but reserves the right to step in, as per our comment policy.

If you are interested in joining Bwog or have a tip to submit, email us at tips@bwog.com, or come to our open weekly meetings every Sunday at 9 pm in Lerner 510. For inquiries concerning advertisements, contact ads@bwog.com.