Menu CATEGORIES

Connect with us

CATEGORIES Menu

About Us

Bwog

Fall 2019

It’s Bwog, not BWOG.

Editor in Chief
Jenny Zhu
jenny@bwog.com
board@bwog.com

Managing Editor
Zack Abrams
zack@bwog.com
board@bwog.com

Internal Editor
Zoe Sottile
zoe@bwog.com
board@bwog.com

Social Media Editor
Idris O’Neill
idris@bwog.com

Arts Editor
Riva Weinstein
riva@bwog.com
arts@bwog.com

Events Editor
Isabel Sepúlveda
isabel@bwog.com
events@bwog.com

Sports Editor
TBD
sports@bwog.com

Science Editor
Alex Tang
alex@bwog.com
science@bwog.com

Deputy Editors
Elisha Zhao
Vivian Zhou

Newsletter Editor
Eva Sher
eva@bwog.com
newsletter@bwog.com

Bureau Chiefs
CCSC: Adam Kluge
ESC: Lori Luo
SGA: Peyton Ayers
GSSC: Andrew Chee

Senior Staff Writers
Sarah Harty
Ramisa Murshed
Levi Cohen
Jake Tibbetts
Danielle Mikaelian
Sophie Tobin
Elle Ferguson
Andrew Wang
Owen Fitzgerald-Diaz
Jordan Merrill
Maya Corral
Jeffrey Ndubisi

Editores Emeriti
Victoria Arancio
Youngweon Lee
Sarah Kinney

Alma “Oxford Comma” Bwogger
Youngweon Lee

 

Publishers
Andrew Penn
andrew@bwog.com
Matthew Wayland
matthew@bwog.com
ads@bwog.com

Photo & Video
Video Editor: Nikita Desir
Photographer: Sophie Tobin
media@bwog.com

Tech
Akshita Bhatia
Cassandra Marcussen
Jeanne Locker
Andrew Medina
Pranjali Sharma
tech@bwog.com

Daily Editors
Monday: Olivia Niu
Tuesday: Sam Losee
Wednesday: Skylar Li
Thursday: Julia Greenblatt
Friday: Ruby Mustill
Saturday: Lauren Kahme
Sunday: Maya Campbell

Staff Writers
Regan Mies
Sam Azanza
Liv Nelson
Jess Hu
Abi Peters
Joseph Campbell
Shreya Ganguly
Richard Lee
Alyse Rovner
Cole Gengos
Daniel Ortega-Venni
Lara Yener
Olivia Mitchell
Janani Varadarajan
Reyna Choi
Tarini Krishna
Zach Fisher
Eliza Staples
Solomia Dzhaman
Chloe Gong
Caroline Mullooly
Catherine Jones
Hibah Vora
Josh Tate
Nicki Camberg
Donna Qi
Joya Kumar
Liv Hughes
Mia Xing
Victoria Borlando
Joanna Yu
Grace Steele
Jane Walsh
Lia Jung
Eunice Bae
Sydney Denson
Leah McGee-Gold
Alan Wang
Sarah Perry
Aditi Misra
Alyssa Sales

 

Bwog is an independent, student-run campus news site. We publish content that is relevant to undergraduate students at the University, including breaking news; campus arts, science, and culture events; investigative features; and conspiracy theories – often packaged with a humorous voice. We also publish a weekly newsletter that packages these stories for subscribers.

We launched in January 2006 as an affiliate of The Blue and White Magazine, but are now a financially and administratively independent organization from both the magazine and Columbia University. Bwog is now published by Bwog Limited.

Bwog’s rise to legitimacy came with the Minuteman protests in the fall of 2006. Highlights in Bwog history include September 2007 when Ahmadinejad came to campus (thus creating our beloved Hawkmadinejad), comprehensive coverage of Operation Ivy League in winter 2010, breaking the news on Dean Moody-Adams’ resignation in summer 2011, and the spring 2012 announcement of President Barack Obama as Barnard’s commencement speaker. Bwog also covered the spring 2013 LitHum and Barnard cheating scandals, and broke the news on the wrestling team’s GroupMe in fall 2016. Most recently, we broke the story about student Julian von Abele’s racist rant in front of Butler.

Bwog can be found on Twitter, where we crack jokes and livetweet coverage of student events; Instagram, where we post everything from weird overseen scenes to pictures from events around campus; and YouTube, where you can find Bwog Videos, a.k.a. Bwideos. DMs are open and submissions are welcome on all platforms.

The Bwog comment section is intended for readers to discuss relevant topics constructively and respectfully. Bwog leaves it largely self-moderated but reserves the right to step in, as per our comment policy.

If you are interested in joining Bwog or have a tip to submit, email us at tips@bwog.com, or come to our open weekly meetings every Sunday at 9 pm in Lerner 510. For inquiries concerning advertisements, contact ads@bwog.com.