Menu CATEGORIES

Connect with us

CATEGORIES Menu

About Us

Bwog

Spring 2019

It’s Bwog, not BWOG.

Editor in Chief
Jenny Zhu
jenny@bwog.com
board@bwog.com

Managing Editor
Zack Abrams
zack@bwog.com
board@bwog.com

Internal Editor
Zoe Sottile
zoe@bwog.com
board@bwog.com

Social Media Editor
Idris O’Neill
idris@bwog.com

Arts Editor
Riva Weinstein
riva@bwog.com
arts@bwog.com

Events Editor
Isabel Sepúlveda
isabel@bwog.com
events@bwog.com

Sports Editor
Jana Jaran
sports@bwog.com

Science Editor
Alex Tang
alex@bwog.com
science@bwog.com

Deputy Editors
Elisha Zhao
Vivian Zhou

Newsletter Editor
Eva Sher

Bureau Chiefs
CCSC: Nadra Rahman
ESC: Finn Klauber
SGA: Dassi Karp
GSSC: Andrew Chee

Senior Staff Writers
Sarah Dahl
Abby Rubel
Gabrielle Kloppers
Angelica Lagasca
Thomas Saenz
Sarah Harty
Ramisa Murshed
Levi Cohen
Leo Bevilacqua

Editores Emeriti
Amara Banks
Finn Klauber
Victoria Arancio
Youngweon Lee
Betsy Ladyzhets
Sarah Kinney

Alma “Bagel” Bwogger
Amara Banks

Alma “Tree” Bwogger
Betsy Ladyzhets

Alma “Oxford Comma” Bwogger
Youngweon Lee

 

Publishers
Andrew Penn
andrew@bwog.com
Matthew Wayland
matthew@bwog.com
ads@bwog.com

Publishers Emeriti
Nik Huth
James Fast

Communications
Director: Katiana Klain
katie@bwog.com
pr@bwog.com

Photo & Video
Video Producer: Camille Ramos
Video Editor: Nikita Desir
Photo Editor: Sophie Tobin
Social Media Consultant: Jamie Grimstad
media@bwog.com

Tech
Kevin “The WordPress Daddy” Chen
Fernando “The Wall” Pascual
Jack “White Mamba” Damon
Aaron “Self CAVA” Kranzler
tech@bwog.com

Daily Editors
Monday: Julia Ulziisaikhan
Tuesday: Henry Golub
Wednesday: Brigid Cromwell
Thursday: Sophie Tobin
Friday: Peyton Ayers
Saturday: Mary Clare Greenlees
Sunday: Sarah Braner

Staff Writers
Danielle Mikaelian
Cara Hudson-Erdman
Mary Welsh
Jake Tibbetts
Iga Szlendak
Riya Mirchandaney
Zoe Ewing
Elle Ferguson
Henry Golub
Lily Dillon
Miyoki Walker
Aidan Reddy
Maggie Gourdin
Regan Mies
Sarah Braner
Tasnia Tasha
Alicia Benis
Andrew Wang
Elizabeth Burton
Flor Arley Hodge
Sam Azanza
Liv Nelson
Jess Hu
Owen Fitzgerald-Diaz
Sara Morales
Sophie Murphy
Jordan Merrill
Abi Peters
Maya Corral
Omar Curiel
Jeffrey Ndubisi
Aditi Patil

 

Bwog is an independent, student-run campus news site launched in January 2006 as the online incarnation of The Blue and White magazine. Although it was initially intended to post stories that warranted immediate attention, such as free food alerts and breaking news, Bwog became Columbia’s preeminent campus blog, completely separate from the magazine. Our focus remains on the university, but we no longer have any ties to The Blue and White and are a financially and administratively independent organization, unaffiliated with Columbia University and published by Bwog Limited.

Bwog publishes multiple posts a day during the academic year to alert the Columbia community about information of interest and offer a critical perspective on campus life. This includes news from the administration, events, science, art, funny shortforms, and more, often packaged with satirical humor.

Bwog’s rise to legitimacy came with the Minuteman protests in the fall of 2006. Highlights in Bwog history include September 2007 when Ahmadinejad came to campus (thus creating our beloved Hawkmadinejad), comprehensive coverage of Operation Ivy League in winter 2010, breaking the news on Dean Moody-Adams’ resignation in summer 2011, and the spring 2012 announcement of President Barack Obama as Barnard’s commencement speaker. Bwog also covered the spring 2013 LitHum and Barnard cheating scandals, and broke the news on the wrestling team’s GroupMe in fall 2016.

Bwog’s social media presence exists on Twitter, for jokes as well as livetweet coverages; Instagram, where we post everything from weird overseen scenes to pictures from events around campus; and YouTube, where you can find Bwog Videos, a.k.a. Bwideos. DMs are open and submissions are welcome on all platforms.

The Bwog comment section is intended for readers to discuss relevant topics constructively and respectfully. Bwog leaves it largely self-moderated but reserves the right to step in, as per our comment policy.

If you are interested in joining Bwog or have a tip to submit, email us at tips@bwog.com, or come to our open weekly meetings every Sunday at 9 pm in Lerner 510. For inquiries concerning advertisements, contact ads@bwog.com.