The John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation has announced that eight Columbia academics are recipients of a 2012 Guggenheim Fellowship. Awards are given to those, “who have demonstrated exceptional capacity for productive scholarship or exceptional creative ability in the arts.” Acceptance not only signifies extraordinary academic achievement, but also comes with cash.

Timothy Donnelly – Associate Professor of Creative Writing: Poetry

Stephen Hall – Journalism

Jennifer Hirsch – Professor and Deputy Chair, Department of Sociomedical Sciences, Mailman School of Public Health

Matthew Jones –  James R. Barker Associate Professor of Contemporary Civilization, Department of History

Christia Mercer – Gustave M. Berne Professor of Philosophy

Alex Mincek – Professor of Music Humanities

Kate Soper – Adjunct Assistant Professor of Music: Music Composition

Benjamin Taylor – Adjunct Faculty Member, Graduate Writing Division