Columbia Classical Performers at Symphony Space

Written by

Symphony Space

96th and Broadway

Cambridge meets Manhattan in a first-time collaborative concert between two young unconducted string ensembles!
Columbia University’s fourbythree presents works by Dmitri Shostakovich, Osvaldo Golijov, and Edward Elgar, demonstrating the many layers of string ensembles through the twentieth century in three different configurations: the string octet, two string quartets and double bass, and orchestra with string quartet. On their New York tour from Harvard University, Brattle Street Chamber Players will present two distinct works that refer to environments of inspiration: Peter Ilych Tchaikovsky’s virtuosic Souvenir de Florence and Forrest O’Connor’s Homage to the Old Mill in its New York premiere.
O’Connor: Homage to the Old Mill (New York Premiere)
Tchaikovsky: Souvenir de Florence
Golijov: Last Round
Shostakovich: Prelude & Scherzo for Octet
Elgar: Introduction & Allegro

TICKETS: $10 General $7 Students

© 2006-2015 Blue and White Publishing Inc.