New SGB Board Announced

Written by

think lion think!!

Pensive lion

SGB had its Town Hall last night and announced its 2104-2015 board. For those not in the know, SGB oversees organizations whose focuses are religious, political, spiritual, ideological, humanitarian, and activist. So, basically a lot. In addition, four new groups were recognized: Columbia University buildOn, Columbia Dorm Room Diplomacy (DRD), Columbia Crown&Cross, and Columbia University Educational Studies Program (ESP).

The election results are below:

Chair: Fatimatou Diallo

Vice Chair: Mariam Elnozahy

 Treasurer: Tess Glassman-Kaufman

 Secretary: Aishwarya Raja

 Representatives at Large:

  • Ankita Gore
  • Priyanka Javlekar
  • Sameer Mishra
  • Doreen Mohammed
  • David Morales-Miranda
  • Karim Nader
  • Maya Pandit

Tags: , ,


    • Tony Lee  

      Hello! At this moment, we plan to have the ABC eboard elections during our first board meeting after Spring Break, on 3/26. All our meetings are open to the public, and we meet on Wednesdays at 8:30pm in Lerner 501.

      With regards to our rep elections, we plan to have candidates campaign in mid-April for two weeks and have an online election in late April voted on by the designated voters of ABC groups.

      Here is more background on our elections, in case you're interested (which I hope you are). In the past, we would have students elect 13 representatives at large at the town hall, much like the SGB, and the incoming ABC eboard would decide which group categories these reps would serve.

      However, with the institution of direct democracy, we thought that it would be very inefficient to have 12 other groups listen to candidates that they would be unable to vote for at the town hall. We also thought that it would be much more convenient for group leaders to be able to vote at their most convenient time during the day, as opposed to a mandated event.

© 2006-2015 Blue and White Publishing Inc.