One Columbia, Go parties triumph; Democracy takes a whuppin’

Written by

kjhFinally, it’s over: CCSC election results are in, and the victory parties underway (continuing 2009 President George Krebs planned a big one, the Sophomore Semi-Formal in Low, at which he was spotted breaking it down with a crown on). Bwog’s poll of earlier this week proved a mostly accurate indicator, and there were few surprises: One Columbia cruised to victory, and in the only other contested class council race, AJ Pascua’s Go party pulled out a narrower win against Toga, with the incumbent trailing almost 15 points behind.

Perhaps more notably: only 34.3% of you voted in the collective 20 hours the polls were open. That’s over 15% fewer than last year. Sure, Diamond v. Chung/Segovia lacked the suspense of Dixit v. Flaxman. But we thought the Core was supposed to make us into better citizens than the average American? Not to moralize or anything.

Full results after the jump.


Executive Board

Michelle Diamond, President
Alidad Damooei, Vice President for Policy
Jennifer Choi, Vice President for Funding
Lindsey Lazopoulos, Vice President for Campus Life
Glenn Thompson, Vice President for Communications
Tracy Chung, President
Katrina Ciraldo, Vice President for Policy
Tim Paulin, Vice President for Funding
Josie Duffy, Vice President for Campus Life
Paul Soto, Vice President for Communications
VOICE PARTY 192 14.3%
Natali Segovia, President
Mallory Carr, Vice President for Policy
Dave Coates, Vice President for Funding
Marbre Stahly-Butts, Vice President for Campus Life
Nirvikar Jassal, Vice President for Communications
University Senator

Michael Topol 190 17.2%
Allan Lau 356 32.2%
Phil Hadley 104 09.4%
Daniel Free 377 34.1%
Eric Wang 642 58.2% WIN
Felipe Tarud 539 48.8% WIN
Student Services

Brian Leung 859 N/A WIN
Molly Conley 939 N/A WIN
Academic Affairs

Kenneth Liu 432 35.7%
Donna Desilius 458 37.9% WIN
Scott Zaloom 319 26.4%
Pre-Professional/Scholarships and Fellowships

Priyanka Gumaste 689 54.9% WIN
Derek Hou 565 45.1%
Class of 2008

[Access] Party 269 100% WIN
Neda Navab, President
Calvin Sun, Vice President
2008 Representatives

Rahul Jain, Represenative-[Access] Party 200 N/A WIN
Scott Hughes, Represenative-[Access] Party 214 N/A WIN
Stephanie Quan, Represenative-[Access] Party 195 N/A WIN
Class of 2009

Fusion Party 306 100% WIN
George Krebs, President
Mark Johnson, Vice President
2009 Representatives

Ian Solsky, Representative-Fusion Party 249 N/A WIN
Zahrah Taufique, Represenative-Fusion Party 248 N/A WIN
Heather Oh, Represenative-Fusion Party 226 N/A WIN
Class of 2010

Toga Party 183 35.3%
Maximo Cubilette II, President
Allie Lalonde, Vice President
Go Party 205 39.6% WIN
AJ Pascua, President
Sue Yang, Vice President
Alma Matters [Remix] Party 130 25.1%
Mark Modesitt, President
Jessica Becker-Venegas, Vice President
2010 Representatives

Charlotte Freinberg, Represenative-Toga Party 232 17.6% WIN
Valerie Sapozhnikova, Represenative-Toga Party 187 14.2%
Matt Harold, Represenative-Go Party 199 15.1%
Joey Goldberg, Represenative-Go Party 222 16.9% WIN
Claytoya Tugwell, Represenative-Go Party 217 16.5% WIN
Gabriel Castillo, Represenative-Alma Matters [Remix] Party 155 11.8%
Lena Fan, Represenative-Alma Matters [Remix] Party 105 08.0%
Total Turnout 1410

Tags: , ,


  1. it's obvious  

    the low turnout was at least partly because of uncontested class races. 2010 had 200 votes more than 2008 or 2009, both of whom hardly had any reason to vote in this election.

  2. hallelujah  

    thank god dan free didn't win

  3. HAHA

    Eric Wang? wow, no wonder undergrads get ignored by the u senate...

  4. 2008  

    great advertising

  5. bwog poll sucks  

    Blog pull is totally inaccurate for senate race. don't believe poll

  6. Wang is the man  

    Senator Wang........! Yeah!

  7. Well  

    Last year they set up a voting tent on Low Plaza, which since there were so many people on the steps at the time, I'm sure had a lot to do with more people voting. Plus, they gave out stickers. Stickers are key.

    • There were  

      stickers this year. I saw some.

    • weather  

      well, the elections were also nearly almost a month before last year's, so in planning the election, the board could not assume that it would be as nice outside as it has been at the end of march. it would have hurt voter turn out even more if there had been a tent and it was 20 degrees outside...

  8. Anonymous  

    WOOOOOO HOOOOOOO!!!! Congratulations everybody!

  9. umm


  10. Prof. Obvious

    Student Government:Columbia::Vichy France:Nazi Germany

  11. Bethmann-Hollweg  

    Congratulations to One Columbia.

    Although to be fair, everyone that voted for them is a moron.

  12. Wait  

    what about Felipe Tarud?

    • what?  

      What about Felipe Tarud? He's a winner, that's what!

    • i saw  

      felipe and said i voted for you just because your name was mentioned on bwog a whole lot. and he was like who did that. and i was like who cares, people voted for because of the name recognition. it is all about name recognition. so mysterious bwog poster, whoever you are, you are owed due thanks.

  13. i couldn't  

    agree more. although no one else could even come close to doing the job, one columbia is certainly not going to wow us.

  14. Matt S.  

    But what about Matt Schoenfeld?

  15. happy  

    after all the childish mark modesitt drama that went down early on during campaigning, i'm glad he received the least votes.

© 2006-2015 Blue and White Publishing Inc.