The winners of the 2008 Lionel Trilling and Mark van Doren Awards have been announced. As Bwog reported earlier, Associate Professor Joseph Massad has been awarded the former, while Andrew Nathan, Political Science Department Chairman, has been awarded the latter for his “humanity, devotion to truth, and and inspiring leadership,” according to the press release. 

The ceremony will be held on Wednesday, May 7th in Low. As all political science undergrads received an email with instructions to RSVP, Bwog believes the event is probably open to the rest of the student body as well. Interested parties can RSVP to

According to Ian Corey-Boulet, the co-chair of the CC Academic Awards Committee, “For space reasons, the event is open to faculty from the political science and MEALAC departments (as well as all department chairs), various members of the University administration, political science and MEALAC majors, and the winners’ friends and family.” Also, if you fall into any of these categories and plan on attending the ceremony, according to the AAC press release, the dress code is “business-smart.”