Eight Columbia Profs Win Guggenheim Fellowships

Written by

The John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation has announced that eight Columbia academics are recipients of a 2012 Guggenheim Fellowship. Awards are given to those, “who have demonstrated exceptional capacity for productive scholarship or exceptional creative ability in the arts.” Acceptance not only signifies extraordinary academic achievement, but also comes with cash.

Timothy Donnelly – Associate Professor of Creative Writing: Poetry

Stephen Hall – Journalism

Jennifer Hirsch – Professor and Deputy Chair, Department of Sociomedical Sciences, Mailman School of Public Health

Matthew Jones –  James R. Barker Associate Professor of Contemporary Civilization, Department of History

Christia Mercer – Gustave M. Berne Professor of Philosophy

Alex Mincek – Professor of Music Humanities

Kate Soper – Adjunct Assistant Professor of Music: Music Composition

Benjamin Taylor – Adjunct Faculty Member, Graduate Writing Division

Tags: , , , ,



    fuckin marry me. i love this woman.

  2. Anonymous

    don't let's forget Jodi Melnick!!

  3. collegs buddy  

    Congrats Kate!!!

  4. Anonymous

    Please be sure to add Eileen Myles and John Wray to this list. Many thanks, BT

  5. cc12  

    Kate Soper definitely one of the best profs I've had at Columbia!!!!!

  6. Anonymous  

    Timothy Donnelly is a fine, fine poet.

  7. Matthew  

    Jones is that dude, dude

  8. Alum

    ". . . confers extraordinary academic achievement . . . ."

    Getting a Guggenheim honors or recognizes "extraordinary academic achievement" but does not "confer" it. Achievement can't be conferred.

  9. Jesse Katsopolis

    Have Mercer!

© 2006-2015 Blue and White Publishing Inc.